Govt, 2 ministers survive no-confidence motions

0 6

The right-wing four-party alliance government and two ministers of the radical rightist Perussuomalaiset (Finns Party) on Friday survived separate no-confidence motions brought against them in the parliament by three opposition parties.

The Suomen Sosialidemokraattinen Puolue (Social Democratic Party of Finland-SDP), Vihreä Liitto (Green League) and Vasemmistoliitto (Left Alliance) brought the no-confidence motion against the government´s anti-racism statement submitted to the parliament on August 31.

The government won the motion by 106 votes to 65 with 21 abstentions and 7 absentees.

Meanwhile, Vihreä Liitto and Vasemmistoliitto brought separate no-confidence motions against Finance Minister Riikka Purra and Economic Affairs Minister Wille Rydman pointing out the racist remarks made by the two ministers.

Purra survived the no-confidence motion by 104 votes to 65 with 23 abstentions and 7 absentees while Rydman survived the motion by106 votes to 65 with 21 abstentions and 7 absentees.

Purra came under fire following widespread controversy raised over racial, apparently violent and anti-immigrant comments made in guise of an identity of ´riikka´ in 2008 on a blog hosted by former Chairperson of her party Jussi Halla-aho, also Speaker of the present parliament.

On July 11, Purra admitted that she made the controversial remarks on the Scripta blog 15 years ago in guise of a username "riikka" and apologised for the racial, violent and anti-immigrant comments.

Rydman made the remarks in text messages sent to his former dating partner when he was a lawmaker of the conservative Kansallinen Kokoomus (National Coalition Party-NCP), the main component of the alliance.

Petteri Orpo-led four-party right-wing alliance government took office on June 20.

  •  Govt
  •  Survives
  •  No-confidence vote


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.