Canada clinch Ice Hockey WC title

0 8

Canada won the Ice Hockey World Championship 2023 beating Germany by five goals to two in the final of the tournament held at Nokia Arena in Tampere late Sunday night.

With this, Canada won the championship title for 22 times.

Meanwhile, Germany became runners-up for the first time since 1953 when only three teams took part in the Ice Hockey World Championship tournament.

With this Germany won total four medals- three silvers and one bronze.

Earlier, the Germans became runners-up in 1930 and 1953 and third in 1934.

Germany started the game with a dominating performance and John Peterka scored the first goal to take 1-0 lead at the eighth minute but Samuel Blais of Canada leveled the score at 11th minute.

Daniel Fischbuch again took lead for Germany at the 34th minute but Lawson Crouse leveled the score again with in a span of three minutes.

Although the Germans, who beat USA in the semi-final took lead twice in the final match and held the Canadians by 2-2 until end of the the second period, Canada started to dominate over the Germans in the third period significantly.

Samuel Blais scored again at the 45th minute followed by Tyler Toffoli at 52nd minute and empty-net goal by Scott Laughton at 59th minute to ensure the 5-2 victory for Canada.

Meanwhile, Latvia won their first ever bronze medal in the history of Ice Hockey World Championship after beating USA at the Nokia Arena by 4-3 in the extra-time of the match, which was 3-3 draw in the normal periods.

Kristians Rubins scored two goals while Bukarts brothers and Janis Jaks scored one goal each for Latvia while Rocco Grimaldi scored two goals and Matt Coronato scored one for the USA.

  •  Canada
  •  Ice Hockey
  •  Title
  •  2023


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.