Finland to close 3 more border crossing points with Russia

0 1

The government on Wednesday decided to close three more border crossing points- Kuusamo, Salla and Vartius- at the eastern border from Friday, said the Ministry of the Interior in a press release.

After closure of these three borders, all border crossings at the eastern border will be taken place only at the border crossing point of Raja-Jooseppi.

The government took the decision on the new restrictions at an extraordinary session against the backdrop of continuation of the influx of asylum seekers from Russia.

The decision will remain in force until December 23.

Earlier on November 18, Finland closed four border crossing points- at Vaalimaa, Nuijamaa, Imatra and Niirala at eastern border.

After closure of the four border crossing points, the border communication is taking place through Vartius, Kuusamo, Salla and Raja-Jooseppi at the eastern border.

Despite closures of the four border crossing points, influx of asylum seekers from Russia continued, which prompted the government to close three more border crossing points.

A total of 75 asylum seekers- 24 at Vartius and 51 at Salla border crossing points- arrived in Finland from Russia on Wednesday, said Finnish Border Guard late Wednesday night.

According to the assessment of the Finnish authorities and the Government, instrumentalised migration from Russia and the escalation of the situation pose a serious threat to national security and public order.

According to the observations made and information received by the Border Guard and other authorities, it is clear that foreign authorities and other actors have played a role in facilitating the entry of persons crossing the border into Finland.

The Russian authorities are allowing this to happen, which is a change from their earlier procedures. The situation also involves international crime, said the government.

Since the beginning of August, about 700 third-country nationals arrived in Finland without a visa via the border crossing points at the eastern border and applied for asylum in Finland.

People crossing the eastern border between Finland and Russia must use the Raja-Jooseppi crossing point as per the new decision.

Finnish citizens must also use the Raja-Jooseppi border crossing point. It will not be possible to apply for international protection at any other crossing point at the land border between Finland and Russia.

The government on Tuesday decided to prepare a fresh proposal to take further action to limit border crossing.

The government on November 16, decided to close part of Finland's eastern border with Russia.

The government on November 15 at a meeting decided that measures to ensure border security following the rapid increase in illegal entry at the eastern border will be taken on Thursday.

Earlier on November 14, the Ministry of the Interior said, the government may decide to restrict cross-border traffic or to close border crossing points at eastern border with Russia against the backdrop of the influx of increasing number of asylum seekers.

  •  Finland
  •  Closes
  •  More
  •  Borders
  •  Russia
  •  Asylum


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.